Main Nav

Department of Education to Rollout Two-Factor Authentication

The U.S. Department of Education Federal Student Aid technology office announced this week at the 2011 Federal Student Aid Conference its plans to issue 90,000 tokens to privileged users who have access to Personally Identifiable Information on FSA systems.  The privileged users will include financial aid staff at your institutions.   More information is available at http://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/CSD6059.pdf

We will also feature the Department’s plans next week as part of IAM Online scheduled for Tuesday, December 6th, at 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / Noon PT.   Please plan to join us to learn more about two-factor authentication, a pilot deployment at Duke University, and implementation details for the Federal Student Aid deployment.  The Higher Education Information Security Council has prepared a resource on Two-Factor Authentication.

EDUCAUSE Policy continues to work closely with the Department of Education’s Chief Information Officer, Chief Security Officer, FSA’s Chief Information Officer, and other staff to influence future technology decisions and to more closely coordinate on matters of privacy, security, and identity management.  Please contact Rodney Petersen at rpetersen@educause.edu or 202-331-5368 if you have any further questions.