Main Nav

2014 Recipient

  • Gordon Wishon
    Chief Information Officer
    Arizona State University

2013 Recipient

  • Brad Wheeler
    Vice President for IT, CIO, and Professor of Business
    Indiana University

2012 Recipients

2011 Recipients

  • Marilyn A. McMillan
    Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Technology Officer
    New York University

  • Robyn M. Render (posthumous)
    Former Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and iNtegrate Project Director
    Nevada System of Higher Education

2010 Recipient

  • Ira H. Fuchs
    Former Vice President and Program Officer for Research in Information Technology
    The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

2009 Recipient

2008 Recipient

  • Joel L. Hartman
    Vice Provost
    Information Technologies and Resources
    University of Central Florida

2007 Recipient

  • Gregory A. Jackson
    Vice President & CIO
    University of Chicago

2006 Recipients

  • Daniel A. Updegrove
    Vice President for Information Technology
    University of Texas at Austin
  • Howard J. Strauss
    (posthumous award)
    former Manager of Academic Outreach
    Princeton University

2005 Recipients

Excellence in Leadership

  • Ronald Bleed
    Vice Chancellor for Information Technologies
    Maricopa Community College District

Leadership in the Profession

  • Annie Stunden
    Chief Information Officer
    University of Wisconsin?Madison

Leadership in Public Policy and Practice

  • Clifford A. Lynch
    Executive Director
    Coalition for Networked Information

2004 Recipients

Excellence in Leadership

  • M. Stuart Lynn
    Associate Vice President (Retired)
    Information Resources and Communications
    University of California Office of the President

Leadership in the Profession

  • Jacqueline Brown
    Assistant Vice Provost, Information Technology Partnerships
    University of Washington

2003 Recipients

Excellence in Leadership

  • Polley Ann McClure
    Vice President, Information Technologies
    Cornell University

Leadership in the Profession

  • Martin Ringle
    Chief Technology Officer
    Reed College

Leadership in Information Technologies

  • Kenneth J. Klingenstein
    Project Director, Internet2 Middleware Initiative
    and Chief Technologist, University of Colorado at Boulder

2002 Recipients

Excellence in Leadership

  • Douglas Van Houweling
    President and CEO

Leadership in the Profession

  • Diane P. Balestri
    (posthumous award)
    Former Vice President, Computing and Information Services
    Vassar College

Leadership in Public Policy and Practice

  • Kenneth C. Green
    The Campus Computing Project

2001 Recipients

Excellence in Leadership

  • J. Gary Augustson
    Vice Provost for Information Technology
    The Pennsylvania State University

Leadership in Information Technology

  • Carl F. Berger
    Director, Advanced Academic Technologies
    University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Carl W. Jacobson
    Director, MIS
    University of Delaware

2000 Recipients

Excellence in Leadership

  • Ira H. Fuchs
    Vice President for Research in Information Technology
    The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Leadership in the Profession

  • Jerry Niebaum
    Assistant Vice Chancellor for Information Services
    University of Kansas
  • David L. Smallen
    Director, Information Technology Services
    Hamilton College

Leadership in Information Technologies

  • Jeffrey I. Schiller
    Network Manager

1999 Recipient

Excellence in Leadership

  • Michael M. Roberts
    Interim President and CEO
    Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)

CAUSE ELITE Award (for Exemplary Leadership and Information Technology Excellence)

1998 Recipient

  • John W. (Jack) McCredie
    Associate Vice Chancellor Information Systems and Technology
    University of California, Berkeley

1997 Recipient (posthumous award)

  • Paul Evan Peters
    Executive Director
    Coalition for Networked Information

1996 Recipient

  • Patricia Battin

1995 Recipient

  • Carole A. Barone
    Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology
    University of California, Davis

1994 Recipient

  • Robert C. Heterick, Jr.

1993 Recipient

  • Albert L. LeDuc
    Director of Computer Services
    Miami-Dade Community College

1992 Recipient

  • Bernard W. Gleason
    Executive Director, Information Technology
    Boston College

1991 Recipient

  • Brian L. Hawkins
    Vice President, Academic Planning and Administration
    Brown University

CAUSE Recognition Awards

1990 Recipient

  • Thomas W. West
    Assistant Vice Chancellor, Information Resources and Technology
    California State University System

1989 Recipients

Institutional Leadership

  • David P. Roselle
    University of Kentucky

Distinguished Service

  • Charles R. Thomas

1988 Recipient

Institutional and National Levels

  • Joseph A. Catrambone
    Loyola University

1987 Recipients

Institutional Level

  • Frank B. Campanella
    Boston College

National Level

  • James I. Penrod
    The California State University/Los Angeles

1986 Recipients

Institutional Level

  • Charles H. Naginey
    The Pennsylvania State University

National Level

  • Douglas E. Van Houweling
    University of Michigan

1985 Recipients

Institutional Level

  • Erwin M. Danziger
    University of North Carolina/Chapel Hill

National Level

  • William E. Lavery
    Virginia Tech

1984 Recipients

Exemplary Leadership

  • James L. Morgan
    State University System of Florida

Professional Excellence

  • Wayne O. Ostendorf
    Iowa State University

1983 Recipients

Exemplary Leadership

  • Vinod Chachra
    Virginia Tech

Professional Excellence

  • Patricia C. Skarulis
    Duke University

1982 Recipients

Exemplary Leadership

  • Joe B. Wyatt
    Vanderbilt University

Professional Excellence

  • Carl Gochenour
    University of Iowa

1981 Recipients

Exemplary Leadership

  • David J. Lyons
    The Rockefeller University

Professional Excellence

  • John F. Chaney
    Higher Education Consultant

1980 Recipients

Exemplary Leadership

  • Ronald W. Brady
    University of Illinois

Professional Excellence

  • Michael M. Roberts
    Stanford University

Connect: San Antonio
April 22–24
Register Now

Events for all Levels and Interests

Whether you're looking for a conference to attend face-to-face to connect with peers, or for an online event for team professional development, see what's upcoming.


Digital Badges
Member recognition effort
Earn yours >

Career Center

Leadership and Management Programs

EDUCAUSE Institute
Project Management



Jump Start Your Career Growth

Explore EDUCAUSE professional development opportunities that match your career aspirations and desired level of time investment through our interactive online guide.


EDUCAUSE organizes its efforts around three IT Focus Areas



Join These Programs If Your Focus Is


Get on the Higher Ed IT Map

Employees of EDUCAUSE member institutions and organizations are invited to create individual profiles.



2015 Strategic Priorities

  • Building the Profession
  • IT as a Game Changer
  • Foundations

Learn More >

Uncommon Thinking for the Common Good™

EDUCAUSE is the foremost community of higher education IT leaders and professionals.