Main Nav

A reminder about the July IAM Online at a special day and time.
IAM Online - Thursday, July 19, 2012
1 pm ET / Noon CT / 11 am MT / 10 am PT
The Future of Federated Identity: Or, Whither SAML?
Join the next IAM Online (special day and time) for a session with Eve Maler, an expert on emerging identity and security at Forrester Research.
Session Abstract: The Security Assertion Markup Language (SAML) has been king of the federated identity hill for a decade, but there are mountains of use cases it doesn't answer well: mobile SSO, agile partnering, social sign-in, the long tail of SaaS services, and more. What are the stress points? What has rushed in to fill the gap? Eve will take a look at the past, present, and future of SAML and its cousins in the world of loosely coupled identity.
Eve Maler is a principal analyst at Forrester Research and is an expert on emerging identity and security solutions, identity federation, consumer-facing identity and web access management, distributed authorization, privacy enhancement, and web services security. She previously was an identity solutions architect with PayPal, and managed Sun Microsystems' technical collaborations with Microsoft on web services and federated identity interoperability. She made major leadership, technical, and education contributions to the development of the SAML standard for federated identity.
Eve Maler, Principal Analyst serving security and risk professionals at Forrester Research
Host and Moderator: 
Tom Barton, Senior Director of Architecture, Integration, and CISO, University of Chicago
We use Adobe Connect for slide sharing and audio: For more details, including back-up phone bridge information, see
IAM Online is a monthly online education series including essentials of federated identity management, hot topics from the EDUCAUSE Identity and Access Management Working Group, and emerging topics in IAM. Experts provide overviews, answer questions and lead discussions. IAM is brought to you by InCommon in cooperation with Internet2 and the EDUCAUSE Identity and Access Management Working Group.