Main Nav

The American Association of University Women
and
The Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies at The Ohio State University

invite you to a
INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY CONCERT and Exhibit of Virtual Art on Sunday, March 4.

This is an online concert of live music; all are welcome, and admission is free. Instructions on how to join us are below:

 

First,download the Second Life client, here:
Then use the link on that page to join Second Life (free).

Use this link to arrive at the Minerva amphitheater: 


THE CONCERT:

The IWD concert continues for most of the day.  Come early if you would like help in learning how to navigate Second Life. Times are below, as well as samples of music from each artist.

11 am Pacific Time (2 pm Eastern, 7pm U.K.)
Naftali Torok- European folk  & Gypsy fiddling

12 pm Pacific Time (3 pm Eastern, 8pm U.K.)
AM Forte – Rock and Blues

1 pm Pacific Time (4 pm Eastern, 9pm U.K.)
SonyaJevette Charisma, blues

2 pm Pacific Time (5 pm Eastern,10 pm U.K.)
TerryLynn Melody, folk

3 pm Pacific Time (6 pm Eastern,11 pm U.K.)
The Choo Choo Chicks, Jazz


ART EXHIBIT: St. Isabella's Isle, by Indea Vaher

Use this link to arrive at the exhibit: http://slurl.com/secondlife/Minerva/86/69/29

St. Isabella's Isle in Second Life was a 3D recreation of a 19th-century community.  Indea Vaher's vignettes of daily life on St. Isabella's  gave an intimate portrait of the Gullah culture of Georgia and South Carolina, and was a very popular site for virtual sightseeing, until it closed in 2011.  We will be displaying the best of her collection on Minerva.

Exhibit opens on March 4 and continues for the month of March.
Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
The Ohio State University
286 University Hall, 230 North Oval Mall
Columbus, Ohio 43210-1311

Twitter: @EllieBrewster

Blog: Exploring the Virtual Classroom   http://ebrewster.wordpress.com/

MINERVA EVENTS: http://bit.ly/1tnCb1 

Avatar:  Ellie Brewster (Second Life, Reaction Grid, Open Sim, Jokaydia)

Visit Minerva Island in Second Life:  http://slurl.com/secondlife/Minerva/16/14/22
 









********** Participation and subscription information for this EDUCAUSE Constituent Group discussion list can be found at http://www.educause.edu/groups/.

Close
Close


Annual Conference
September 29–October 2
Register Now!

Events for all Levels and Interests

Whether you're looking for a conference to attend face-to-face to connect with peers, or for an online event for team professional development, see what's upcoming.

Close

Digital Badges
Member recognition effort
Earn yours >

Career Center


Leadership and Management Programs

EDUCAUSE Institute
Project Management

 

 

Jump Start Your Career Growth

Explore EDUCAUSE professional development opportunities that match your career aspirations and desired level of time investment through our interactive online guide.

 

Close
EDUCAUSE organizes its efforts around three IT Focus Areas

 

 

Join These Programs If Your Focus Is

Close

Get on the Higher Ed IT Map

Employees of EDUCAUSE member institutions and organizations are invited to create individual profiles.
 

 

Close

2014 Strategic Priorities

  • Building the Profession
  • IT as a Game Changer
  • Foundations


Learn More >

Uncommon Thinking for the Common Good™

EDUCAUSE is the foremost community of higher education IT leaders and professionals.