Network Award

About the Award

Recognizing the ongoing and mission-critical importance of the campus network infrastructure and architecture, EDUCAUSE offered this Award for Excellence in Networking: Innovation in Network Technology, Services, and Management. The award honored strategic, innovative networking programs or practices that improved the quality of campus network services -- and thus the campus environment -- through new or enhanced network architectures, infrastructure, integration, management, and/or operational practices. Projects did not need to be institutional in scale to be considered. The selection committee looked for innovative practices that demonstrated creativity, efficiency, or effectiveness in handling common challenges and that could serve as models for other institutions.

Winners of this award were selected by the EDUCAUSE Network Award Committee, with strategic oversight from the EDUCAUSE Recognition Committee.

This award program was sponsored by Cisco Systems, Inc., An EDUCAUSE Platinum Partner.


2005 Winner

  • Coppin State University

2004 Winner

  • Dartmouth College

2003 Winners

  • Indiana University and Purdue University
  • State University of New York, Cortland Campus

2002 Winner

  • College of Mount St. Joseph

2001 Winners

  • Bentley College
  • Worcester Polytechnic Institute (Honorable Mention)

2000 Winners

  • Wake Forest University
  • University of Northern Iowa (Honorable Mention)

1999 Winner

  • Seton Hall University

1998 Winners

  • Duke University
  • Northwestern University (Honorable Mention)
  • Wake Forest University (Honorable Mention)

1997 Winners

  • Cedarville College
  • Virginia Tech
  • College of the Holy Cross (Honorable Mention)
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Honorable Mention)
  • Montana State University-Bozeman (Honorable Mention)
  • Duke University (Honorable Mention)
  • Northwestern University (Honorable Mention)

1996 Winners

  • University of Oregon
  • Cal Lutheran University
  • Boston College (Honorable Mention)
  • Lock Haven University (Honorable Mention)
  • Susquehanna University (Honorable Mention)

1995 Winners

  • Cornell University
  • Duquesne University (Honorable Mention)
  • Marist College (Honorable Mention)
  • Stanford University (Honorable Mention)

1994 Winners

  • University of Delaware
  • Loyola College in Maryland (Honorable Mention)
  • Pennsylvania State University (Honorable Mention)
  • Stanford University (Honorable Mention)
  • Stevens Institute of Technology (Honorable Mention)
  • University of Alberta (Honorable Mention)

1993 Winners

  • Maricopa Community College
  • Brown University (Honorable Mention)
  • Cedarville College (Honorable Mention)
  • Gettysburg College (Honorable Mention)
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Honorable Mention)
  • Pennsylvania State University (Honorable Mention)
  • Stevens Institute of Technology (Honorable Mention)