Teaching and Learning Award

About the Award

This award recognized transformative improvements in the campus teaching and learning culture. It honored replicable, sustainable, technology-based programs and practices that have helped move institutions or systems toward effective, enterprise-wide, learner-centered instructional systems.

The award was designed to encourage development of new collegiate learning environments that harnessed the power of information technology to improve the quality of teaching and learning, contained or reduced rising costs, and provided greater access to higher education. This program was expected to contribute to the creation of a base of accepted practice and principles for support of learner-centered teaching and learning. Successful applications included compelling evidence of the program's impact, with measures for such documentation.

Winners of this award were selected by the Teaching and Learning Award Committee, with strategic oversight from the EDUCAUSE Recognition Committee.

This award program was sponsored by WebCT, An EDUCAUSE Gold Partner.


2005 Winners

  • University of Central Florida
  • Virginia Tech

2004 Winner

  • Lehigh University

2003 Winners

  • DePauw University
  • University of Colorado at Boulder

2002 Winner

  • Wake Forest University School of Medicine

2001 Winners

  • George Mason University
  • State University of New York

2000 Winners

  • University of Washington
  • Seton Hall University (Honorable Mention)
  • University of Technology, Sydney (Honorable Mention)